October 17th, 2011, by TheiPadGamer |

Apple Stores to Shut Down for 1 Hour on October 19

Apple will be hosting a remembrance ceremony in the outdoor amphitheater of Apple’s Infinite Loop campus in Cupertino,  Santa Clara County, California to commemorate the life of  Steve Jobs on October 19, 2011. The event is for Apple employees, though and not open to the public.

Apple Stores worldwide are expected to close for one full hour starting from 10AM PST or 1PM EST to 11AM PST or 2PM EST. During the hour long closure, Apple employees are going to watch a live webcast of the memorial.

 

Who is Steve Jobs?

Steve Jobs was co-founder, chairman, and chief executive officer of Apple Inc. and was also the CEO for Pixar.

He was awarded Jobs was awarded the National Medal of Technology 1984 and a Samuel S. Beard award in 1987. Steve Jobs was named the Most Powerful Person in Business by Fortune magazine, as well as number 17 in Forbes Magazine’s Most Powerful People .

Steve Jobs shook the tech inductry when he announced his resignation as Apples’s CEO, writing that “I have always said if there ever came a day when I could no longer meet my duties and expectations as Apple’s CEO, I would be the first to let you know. Unfortunately, that day has come.” on August 24, 2011.

He died of respiratory arrest due to due to complications from relapse of his previously treated pancreatic cancer on October 5, 2011.

A small private funeral was held on October 7, 2011 where details are not revealed in respect to his family. Sunday, October 16, 2011, was declared “Steve Jobs Day” by Governor Jerry Brown of California.

 

via 9to5Mac

Posts that might interest you:

Source http://myipadgames.com/apple-stores-to-shut-down-for-1-hour-on-october-19/



Add comment


Security code
Refresh

iPad 3 Best iPad Yet?



Most Popular